Acoustic Inertia
Acoustic Inertia
“An oral presence, I guess.”
0:00
-6:20

“An oral presence, I guess.”

Hi everyone,

Today’s rendition of the newsletter covers a lot of ground. First, I talk about oral traditions, galloping pace, and memory, particularly in regards to the Greek myths and their contemporary interpreters. I put a few links below in case you’re curious about any of the references included. Plus, Laurel phones in with a voice memo in response to a previous newsletter, and we end with a dramatic recording of the rain as heard from my courtyard. You can expect smooth transitions and an even sound quality—I’m nothing if not tech savvy.

Links:

Madeline Miller on The Ezra Klein Show

Emily Wilson’s (very good) translation of The Odyssey

Profile of Emily Wilson in The New York Times Magazine

Ok for now,

Meg

p.s. Have you guys seen Courtney Cassidy’s Sounds Nice website? It’s great, and Courtney has a really nice way of thinking about sound. She sent me a recording of rain on her former roof in Oakland that became the inspiration for my own rain recording.

Acoustic Inertia
Acoustic Inertia
An audio-based, participatory newsletter. But no pressure, you can just listen.